Minnesota is no different than other states when it comes to second degree assault. It is a serious crime, and can involve serious consequences. When someone is arrested for assault in the second degree, they should contact a lawyer as soon as possible to make sure that their interests are protected. Here are some things you should know if you or someone you know has been charged with second degree assault.
The primary definition of a second degree assault is that it’s an assault involving a dangerous weapon. There are 2 parts to the law regarding this type of crime. The first involves assaults involving a dangerous weapon, and the second involving assaults with a dangerous weapon that also causes substantial bodily harm.
The penalties for being convicted of a second degree assault are nothing to sneeze at. It carries a maximum prison sentence of 7 years and a maximum fine of $14,000 if there is no serious bodily harm. If there is substantial bodily harm, then those maximums go up to ten years and $20,000. You may not end up serving the maximum sentence, but it’s important to know what the worst possible consequence may be. Most likely, after sentencing, someone convicted of assault in the 2nd degree will be placed on probation, with severe penalties for breaking the rules.
There are many consequences of being convicted of second degree assault that don’t involve the court system. For one, in Minnesota it is legal for an employer to fire an employee for a criminal offence. Looking for a job will be harder as well, as many employers ask applicants if they’ve ever been convicted of a crime. This type of crime will also be discovered with any criminal record checks, so an offender will have a difficult time shaking the effects of the charge well after the legal penalties have been imposed.
An offender may also be mandated to attend anger management counseling to avoid re-offending. They may have to submit to a chemical use assessment to see if any drugs or alcohol were involved. If so, then it may be mandated for the offender to enter rehabilitation of some kind.
Second degree assault is no laughing matter. Make sure to contact an attorney if you are charged with this serious crime.