Every time and individual is arrested for DWI, the penalty becomes tougher. If the sentence involves a fine or jail time, the amount will be higher after each conviction and the duration of the sentence will be longer. If convicted, a felony charge may be added to your record permanently, further obscuring any driving privileges and future job prospects.
Repeat DWI offenses
As long as your case does not include aggravating factors, as a first-time offenders, you will most likely face a misdemeanor charge. Aggravating factors include the following:
• Blood concentration of .20
• A child being present in the vehicle
• Multiple DWI arrests over the past ten years
After a second offense, you may receive a misdemeanor charge and your chance of being sentenced to jail time, receiving a fine or losing your driver’s license increases. A third DWI conviction may result in jail time and harsher fines. A fourth violation is a felony.
The method in which a repeat offender is prosecuted depends to a large extent on the judge’s discretion. If multiple offenses have occurred over time, the prosecutor will week the longest jail sentence and the harshest fines.
If you are only guilty of a first offense, you might still face First Degree charges if aggravating factors were involved.
The penalty for a crime usually becomes more severe with each conviction. In Minnesota, a second conviction will result in a fine of up to $3,000 and one month in jail, a license revocation and possible additional penalties. A third offense carries a 90-day jail sentence, at least $3,000 in fines, a license revocation, vehicle impoundment and additional penalties.
A fourth offense (First Degree DWI) is the most severe offense. The sentence includes three years in jail and at least $14,000 in additional fines. If convicted, a person may lose their license and driving privileges and the vehicle will be impounded.
Learn More About DWI Cases:
- Bail Bonds and DWI Cases
- Breath and Blood Tests
- Commercial DWI Information
- Civil Penalties for DWI Cases
- DWI Court Procedures
- DWI Jail Alternatives
- Getting Arrested for DWI Without a Driver’s License
- DWI Work Permit Information
- Implied Consent Laws
- How Does Minnesota Establish DWI Bail?
- Multiple Arrests for DWI in Minnesota? What Now?
- DWI Cases for Non-Citizens
- What is a Qualified Prior Impaired Driving Incident?
- What is Reasonable Suspicion?
- DWI Cases and Vehicle Forfeitures